Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie so please forgive. I am not sure where to post this. I have a Leblanc Alto Sax Model 100, Serial Number 549. It was my dad's. I have the original warranty card and sales receipt from 1963. I have the original case but really know nothing about saxophones so I was hoping someone could help me out in determining it's value. I have been holding onto this for so long, I am thinking instead of selling it to someone who has more appreciation for it. Any help is appreciated in figuring out what the value of it even is!! Thank you.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015
2,460 Posts
price of vintage saxophones is depressed these days. a couple of years ago $1200 or more today $800 or $900. a lot depends on the condition of the instrument. Also the mouthpiece may or may not add value depending upon what it is.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hi Idexter,
I had serial number 671 when I was in high school and college. I very stupidly sold it to buy a Selmer. The Leblanc had a wonderful velvety tone which didn't work well for big band playing but was great for orchestra a solo work. New it cost $610. I'm not sure of the current values, but the $800 mentioned earlier seems a bit low. The instrument is a real bear to repair. It takes a really good repair man to keep it operating. I'd be interested in hearing more.
Mperk

·
Registered
4 Posts
I bought it in June of 1963 to take with me to Interlocken. I was very disappointed when I got it, because it had been damaged in shipping. It was indeed an alto. What I wouldn't give to get another.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015
2,460 Posts
mperk

thanks.....

i added your info to my spread sheet. where do you live these days?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,337 Posts