Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm talking to someone about buying a used YAS-62, but they don't know which model it is... They think they bought it in 2007, which I guess would mean it's likely a mark ii? However, I thought the neck was supposed to say G1 on it, which it doesn't (see picture below).

View attachment 215846

Are there any model numbers I should be careful about purchasing in terms of the YAS-62? I heard the G1 neck had some problems at some point, but I don't know if the 62 was affected.

I have the serial number, is it at all possible to deduce which model it is from that? They have the booklet it came with, and the receipt - maybe these would have some additional information? They said they can't find anything though.

Kind regards,
Malte

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Malte: Welcome to SOTW. I am no Yamaha expert but I have owned a couple over time and played many more than that in hopes of buying one (which I eventually did, then soon thereafter, sold it back to the seller at his request).

I am one to not buy into Yamaha's constant model upgrades, at least as they'd have me believe those upgrades matter. A screw change here, a connecting rod there doesn't in my mind mean much about how I play the things.

It MAY mean something in saxophone design schools or to repair technicians, but those things are not my concern. "Does the horn play well?" is my concern. And I believe that most Yamahas, from beginner-level up to their high-end pro lines play well.