Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,924 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm planning on getting an old Conn curved soprano.
Ebay prices usually range between $500-$1200.

Online stores usually sell them for $2000+

The only difference I guess is that the ones sold by the stores will be set up and adjusted and ready to play whereas Ebay ones are a risk (albeir a calculated one...based on pics, description).

Any Conn Curvie experts there who like to give your advice?
I'm a Mark VI sop guy...don't know much about vintage Curvies.
Also considering a Yani SC901...the one with the less curved neck...intonation will be much better but I guess the warmth of the Conn sound will be absent.

Advice????

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Adrian: I am not an expert on curved Conns, although I owned one years ago.
My Yanagisawa SC902 is overwhelmingly a better saxophone than was the Conn I once owned (and the Conn had been completely overhauled after I bought it).

I've owned and played more modern curved sops, though, and feel better about generalizing about modern curved sops. I'd go modern, but always keep an open mind about the vintage models. DAVE

·
Registered
391 Posts
Hi Adrian

If I am not mistaken, I boughta a Runyon Quantum SOP off you some time again... and I am still enjoying it !

Interesting that you are looking for a Conn curvie ? My thoughts were going that way as well.

Currently have a Lyon&Healy straight sop (Martin), and a Rampone & Cazzani silver curvie SOP. Both are beautiful ... but I am curious about the Conn sound. I would be interested in hearing why you are looking at the vintage Conn sops ?

... oh, and by the way I have a tilted bell P.Mauriat that is also very nice, but not as dark as the other two. Thus this one will shortly be up for sale.

Cheers
W.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,034 Posts