Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing tenor for the past 5 years and my sax teacher told me to get an alto to play, along with tenor, in college. I'm getting a Yamaha YAS-875EX, and I really have no idea what kind of jazz mouthpiece to get. On tenor I use a metal otto link STM 7 and I really like it, so I'm wondering what kind of jazz mouthpiece is going to feel similar to that.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Russ said:
Err, how about a metal otto link STM 7 ?? ;)

I've always been told that otto links don't work as well for alto as they do for tenor. But I guess that's not the case?

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
saxymoose said:
I've always been told that otto links don't work as well for alto as they do for tenor. But I guess that's not the case?
No, Otto Links in Many OPINIONS don't sound as good on Alto. They sound great on Tenor, but you will want to play different mouthpieces to see which one you like more. I personally use the Meyer 7M on Alto. Try the Link, if you like the sound go with it. As for Mouthpieces it might help to know the price range that you were looking on spending.

I hope this helps. :cool:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2007
1,142 Posts
Hey Saxymoose,
I have a couple of suggestions for you. First and foremost, try to get somewhere that you can try out a variety of mouthpieces. That will help you more than anything. As far as actually makes and models go, I would suggest trying out a Vandoren V16 A6S, a Meyer 6M or 7M, and a Morgan Excalibur 7E. They're all middle of the road pieces that are flexible enough to use in a variety of settings (big band, saxo quartet, etc.) I think that between those three pieces you'll be able to find something you like. Good luck.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,147 Posts
Since you play a Link on tenor the most logical step is a Meyer, but just try a lot of stuff out as mentioned previously.

·
Registered
762 Posts