Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to the forum here and just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Jon De Lucia, I am a saxophone and woodwind teacher/performer in NYC, specifically Brooklyn. I teach all over the city, and frequently out of Michiko's Rehearsal Studios in Roberto's Woodwinds. I have been teaching for 10 years, half of the time in Boston where I am from, and the last 5 years in New York.
I play primarily alto, but recently more and more soprano and some flute.
You can hear my first record from 2006 at www.cdbaby.com/jondeluciagroup. It features my original jazz compositions with Nir Felder, Leo Genovese, Garth Stevenson and Ziv Ravitz.
Next week I am recording a new CD of my baroque improvising trio, the Luce Trio, for which we have a kickstarter page setup: http://kck.st/qEu27i.
Thanks for checking me out! I'd love to talk about the process of arranging the music of Bach and Handel for saxophone trio.

·
Banned
3,043 Posts
Hey Jon - I think having a Baroque improvising trio is a great idea. To me that music, and Bach, share the common ground of forward motion (with the 8th note as its basic unit), improvisation and chromaticism (Baroque to a lesser extent), but Bach certainly DID use flat 9's over dominant chords at the very least. I always thought of Baroque as almost a predecessor to Be Bop.

·
Forum Contributor 2016, The official SOTW Little S
5,472 Posts
I really, really love your tone, especially in the upper register. I will admit that I'm not a biggest fan of free jazz, but I could listen to your album all day long. I like what you did on Edo Komoriuta. I believe it's really creative to bring an instrument into a type of music where it is not very traditional. Best of luck to you!

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·