Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
~1927 Buescher TT alto
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! The title says it, for the most part. I am an experienced (30-year) bassist, and on alto I'm a middling beginner with a few hundred practice hours behind me, and up to now I've been playing on a Buescher TrueTone, ca. 1926-28 if I recall. I like the horn and its sound. But I certainly can say that some of the action still feels challenging, and I've long wondered whether a horn with a more modern construction and ergonomics might be useful to me, as I understand these vintage horns are not often recommended for someone at my playing level. But going out and trying saxes is not really going to happen, given the pandemic and the scarcity of good shops in my region. (I also do not have a teacher at this point, and realistically won't until the COVID era has ended.)

So an opportunity has presented itself -- I have a friend who has her son's old Yamaha YAS-200AD (made in China), which (a) she says is in excellent condition, and (b) she would be happy to part with. She's not "looking to sell" -- this is just an offer that came up when she found out I've been learning to play sax. She's also happy to let me make an offer: she did a rent-to-own for $1675, brand new, and admits she has no idea how the value will have appreciated or depreciated. My initial searching suggests it's going to have lost quite a bit of that value. If I make an offer, I'd be looking to make it fair, not lowball her.

I could probably arrange to have her ship it to me without finalizing the purchase, so that I can try it out. But that's a level of cost and trouble (on her part) that I'd avoid if the whole idea is stupid.

My questions are:
  • Most importantly - do you think a modern student horn would provide a good experience for me -- perhaps a more friendly learning curve -- than the nearly 100-year old horn I currently have?