Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

I’m currently trying to improve my theoretical jazz knowledge since I’m planning to study Jazz saxophone.

One of the most important things for the theoretical part is to be able to analyze chord changes (functional analysis) like the one in the attachment. I am pretty much a total beginner in doing that, so it would be very helpful if somebody can analyze these chords and explain how you did that.

In the other attachment (the first one at the top) I need to add chords to the changes that make sense in this harmonic context

Thanks for your help!

View attachment 230598

View attachment 230600

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,006 Posts
One of the most important things for the theoretical part is to be able to analyze chord changes (functional analysis) like the one in the attachment. I am pretty much a total beginner in doing that, so it would be very helpful if somebody can analyze these chords and explain how you did that.
Given you are a total beginner in this topic, I'd start with something a bit more basic than the changes you listed. Just a thought... No doubt some on here can analyze that progression for you, but it won't likely help much if you don't have the basics of functional harmony down.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
5,092 Posts
IMaj7 | V7/vi| related ii-7 V7/V | bvi-9 | IMaj7 vi-7 | ii-7 V7 | v-7 | IVMaj7 | ii-7 | IMaj7 ||

IMaj7 |#idim | ii-7 | #iidim | iii-7 | IVMaj7 | #ivdim | I/5 | V7/ii | ii-11 | IVMaj7/9 |I7 ||