Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a noob when it comes to mouthpiece alteration. I've played on unaltered links for 20 years, and have never seen the inside of altered or hand finished mouthpieces. I just bought a Lebayle LR II on tenor, and it sounds great, but I have to ask..... is it standard to have tooling marks inside from the hand finishing?

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
It depends. I have seen many mouthpieces with some hand finishing evident, including some Vandoren products. There are some makers who will use fine steel wool and other materials to try to remove any marks. It really only matters how it plays.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,715 Posts
Exactly as Michael says.
The only thing that bothers me is this "knife & Fork" approach to hand made mouthpieces; no two will be exactly alike.
Those mouthpiece manufacturers, such as SR Technologies & Jody Espina who have adopted ultra accurate CNC technology, can reproduce an internal shape to a milli microblean...there is no need for them to hand finish....each piece is identical. Should they find the need to adjust even to even the smallest degree, they can dial this into their system.

Not for one minute am I suggesting that the traditional methods do not produce superb mouthpieces....they do, but they vary. This is surely the reason why the purchase of a Link, over the telephone or by mail order, is a lottery.

·
1,365 Posts
LeBayles tend to have a slightly rough finish compared with a lot of makes- but that's just the way they are. They play nicely though, which is the bottom line...

·
Distinguished Colorful Mouthpiece Designer
1,019 Posts
...who have adopted ultra accurate CNC technology, can reproduce an internal shape to a milli microblean...there is no need for them to hand finish....each piece is identical. Should they find the need to adjust even to even the smallest degree, they can dial this into their system...