Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
4,690 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yeh I know its not a sax, but ideally Im after some mechanically minded person to give em an idea

Question for those that repair guitars, be you DIY, self taught, commercial or hobyist, actually even if you dont repair them but can come up with a solution Ill be indebted to you

A common problem with guitars is fret buzz, or actions set so low they start buzzing, after Ive levelled a set of frets, I lower the action to what I think I can get away with, Im thinking of making a device like a set of leds connected to each fret which light up if the string touches during the test, this means you can identify the exact point when the string touches when lowering, has anyone here made something similiar.

Currently I string em up and eyeball the action and test play, but would be great to have a setup that displays a lit led in relation to that particular fret being touched.

My issue isnt making a circuit board with leds but a way to couple the led wire to each fret without actually damaging them

Ideas

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,081 Posts
I'd be thinking about something stroboscopic with the frequency of the strobe equalling the frequency of the string.
Any fault should then be easier to detect.

But this is pure theory...

·
4,690 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually thats a point, I use a digital tuning program before they go out, and I use it to tune them to pitch, it shows a frequecny display across the whole range 20hz-20khz and the dominant peaks being played. In theory If I used this during the string setup stage it would show the strings peak point nulling out as it touched a fret else where. Nice thought, Ill have a look at that tommorrow. If it works Ill take a photo