Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a beginner and a friend in another state has a Y23 he is willing to sell me. Reading the posts this seems to be a good learning model- I am not sure how much to offer him. He tells me he hasn't played it in a year but it is in good shape. I trust him on this. Is $500 in range? suggestions?

Len

PS Alto sax

·
Registered
244 Posts
Alto or tenor? If it's truly in good playing condition, and reasonable cosmetic condition, $500 is a good price for a tenor. If alto, I would say more like $400....heck, maybe even offer $350.

·
Registered
122 Posts
That's a very good price if it's in good playing condition. The YAS-23 school horn I played in college was very comfortable and didn't sound terrible either. Withstood being "ridden hard and put up wet" I would describe it as very predictable (which is a complement!) but somewhat thin in the low end, but I'm a Martin player.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,998 Posts
$500 for an Alto OR Tenor is a good price if it is in good shape with no significant issues.

I typically sell refurbed YAS-23's for $450-500, Tenors for $575-650.

These fetch a tad more than the Vito -branded 21's...

·
Registered
3,019 Posts