Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this has been asked over multiple times in the past, however I am completely new to the topic and so don't really know exactly what I am/should be looking for in a good clip on mic.

All I'm really looking for is something that is relatively good, reliable, light clip on for live performance that hopefully doesn't break the bank too much. I know that there are wireless and wired microphones, of which I'm not sure which I should be looking at. I play an alto in case thats at all important. Sorry to bother anyone who has been asked this question in the past, but would love any suggestions or pointers that anyone might have. Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,780 Posts
I have an older AKG condenser microphone which is essentially the same as the new ones. The wireless versions ones are more expensive but unless you are really into these things I’d stick to a wired one. I had a dynamic one from SD systems which, to me, performed worse than this.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,780 Posts
if the frequency under which you operate is illegal it will be risky to operate at least this is the stance in the NL. The postal police will certainly check things and fine the abusers.
Is it worth taking the risk? I’d buy a wired mike or otherwise one operating on a legal frequency

Read this

https://www.fcc.gov/wireless/bureau-divisions/mobility-division/wireless-microphones
https://www.audiolinks.com/blog/fcc-bans-wireless-mic-use-in-the-700-mhz-band/

“..Possible penalties for operating in the forbidden frequency range include equipment confiscations and large fines – potentially in the $10,000 range.

Although the chances of getting caught could be slim, the potential for financial liability is such that many users are ditching their old mics in favor of new, FCC compliant systems..."

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
25,962 Posts