Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a newbie here, but I thought I’d jump right in and open up a discussion, so here goes:

I’m currently working on an analytical essay about the Glazunov concerto.The basic idea behind it is that I am analysing about 3 or 4 recordings in terms of individual performance choices and interpretation, and relating this back to analysis of the score itself (well, the reduced score for sax and piano, since that’s all I have access to) and the original cultural context of the piece.

The four recordings that I managed to get my hands on are:

- the Theodore Kerkezos recording from Naxos
- the Sohre Rahbari recording, from same
- the John Harle recording from EMI
- and the Eugene Rousseau recording from Deustche Grammophon

I’m not quite sure whether or not I should use all four, or if I should drop one of them; I don’t know which one I’d leave out. I am also going to e-mail the players in the hope of gaining some insight into their thoughts on the piece – I’ll let you know how that goes!

So, what do you think influenced these performers in their interpretations of the piece? Do you think some of them are closer to the composer’s original intentions than others? I’d love to hear some opinions! Also, if anyone knows of any resources that might be useful for this, I would very much appreciate it.

·
Distinguished Member
637 Posts
My suggestion: If you're wanting to find a good case in your essay for different interpretations, include the recording of this Concerto by Lawrence Gwozdz

·
Registered
6 Posts
You might also want to check out Pekka Savijoki and Arno Bornkamp's recording of the Glazunov. Sounds like an interesting topic, maybe look back at each of the performers teachers and see how they were influenced by them, and if any of them possibly worked closer with Glazunov....

Sorry I'm not much help!

Alias sax

·
Registered
2,095 Posts