Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
Im in my final year at school (Year 12) and am thinking of a career in music (playing, teaching etc).

Planning to do classical piano degree, along with jazz saxophone as my other instrument. Heres the situation, I only started learning saxophone about 2 1/2 years ago, I picked it up as a secondary instrument but now Im playing in all the jazz/concert bands at school.

I have jazz experience in a Big band (Lead Alto) but really want to learn how to improvise well. I am fine with most blues and minor improvisation but want to know how to really develop my ideas and playing to the next level. I currently play my cycle of fourths all around the scale, play long tones etc but dont have much rep to work with.

Any ideas sorry about the ocnfusing post!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2008
4,046 Posts
Do you transcribe solos off records? Play these phrases in all keys.

Transcribing is the one thing more people leave out because it's a lot of work to get started and it's slow going at first, so you get no instant gratification. Transcribe everyday and improve your ears. As a pianists you should be able to get the theory down fairly quick, but classical training is vastly different than jazz. Tear yourself from written music as much as you can and do the work in your head as far as learning your scale/chord theory. Spending the majority of your time working it out in you head will be essential when your up on stage in a jam and you have to fly by the seat of you pants.

·
Registered
92 Posts
i would also suggest investing in/borrowing a Jamey Aebersold book. There's a list of "common jazz scales" and their relative chord in the back for study (I'm still working on making them reflex). The play-alongs are fun, definitely a treat after a long woodshed session or just on their own for practice.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4