Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been playing for about 8-9 yrs the alto saxophone. So far I am still trying to get better with improvisation. I am kind of disappointed with myself that with the fact that I know I can be a lot better. I am kind of stumped to how I can apply different things to my technique. I practice out of a runbanks advanced book once in a while, but don't know how to use that to better my technique. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I don't know where you are in your playing but bringing up Rubank makes me think of something I heard before.

Rubanks general have some excersises that follow patterns. something simple like 123234345456. just simple harmonic progressions. Well using those rubank patterns can create interesting lines in an improvisation. don't obviously just use those simple patterns but using one or two and then going off of them works very well. Especially in fast tunes.

Another thing to use is the pentatonic scales. Coltrane used those a ton, as well as side-slipping, but I don't know where you are in your playing so just experiment with what you can.

Like I said though, those rubank patterns and stuff are good. Good luck.

C

·
0 Posts