Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, i am a freshman who was wondering what was the best way to get a scholarship for bari sax. Thanks

·
Registered
575 Posts
1. Double on bassoon.
2. Be a killer alto or tenor player and once you get the scholarship, politely ask if you may play bari sax instead of alto.

Sorry, DChalo, not to be a bummer, but from my experience, schools have little need for great bari players. When it comes time to dole out the cash, they need the strong players in spots that will make their bands stronger. Scholarship players are usually put where their talents will be most publicly featured- on lead parts. Work up the standard rep on alto or tenor and go from there. Sax scholarships are hard enough to get, don't limit your options by sticking to bari; the hard repertoire is in sop, alto, tenor.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
Hey, i am a freshman who was wondering what was the best way to get a scholarship for bari sax. Thanks
It depends on where you are from. At many colleges, you can just go to someone in the band program and ask the same question and they will tell you. A lot of colleges have marching band scholarships that are fairly easy to get if you can play well. I know several mediocre young players that had band scholarships for four years. But it's hard work with very little glory. So it's more of a job instead of a gravy train.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,035 Posts
Have good grades, have a finacial need, pick a school that has a need for sax players, don't rule out small schools, try a community college for the first two years.
What state are you located in?

·
Registered
873 Posts