Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I came across an internet classified ad for "Genius" brand saxophones for sale for $350 CDN. It said soprano, alto, and tenor were available. I tried to research this brand on the internet as well as this forum and could not find anything. Has anyone heard of this brand before and if so, can you provide some info?

Thanks,
Kevin

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
1,571 Posts
run far run fast

I have no experience with these saxes but the fact that you could not find anything about them should be a red flag.

HUTMO

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Kevin: Welcome to SOTW.

There are tons of house-brand or names-from-the-blue new saxophones coming from Taiwan and China (or India and other places, I suppose). All one has to do is to contact a factory and buy a bunch - they'll put most anything on the bell, as directed by the buyer.

This doesn't necessarily mean cheap, unplayable JUNK. You should play (several) before reaching any conclusion about a GENIUS (or an ACME or a DOLSON or whatever name is on the horn).

If you can't find one to test, I'd recommend buying the more well-known brand names on Taiwanese saxophones these days (like Kessler, Unison, Mauriat, Cannonball, etc.). DAVE

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses and the welcome.

I emailed the person advertising the "Genius" brand and asked about the quality (how they compare to Yamaha's for example) and low price. He admitted that they are a chinese brand and it would be unfair to compare them to a Yamaha. He did say that a friend purchased and alto and is very happy with the tonal quality produced. The low price is due to the high volume the supplier has on hand.