Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Just seeking some advice.

I currently have an Armstrong 104 flute but came across a local ad for a Gemeinhardt M2 Flute.

They are asking $75.

I'm still fairly new at flute but really enjoy learning it.
Playing C1 to G3 but still very breathy in the low notes.
Embouchure still needs work.

Any opinions on the M2 or would it be a waste of money?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
No. The M2 is the old student model. Go for an M3. I got a nice M3 inline with a sterling head off of eBay for $100 plus shipping. The older Gemeinhardt flutes don't bring that much and the M3 is a great player according to my wife. If it was an offset model, it would probably be her main piece. If you arn't comfortable with the open-holes, you can get plugs for just a few dollars.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
I don't know guys. Is there that much added value in buying a low-end (not that they're not good) used flute as contrasted with Bobby keeping the Armstrong, working on developing himself some more, saving up some coins in the meantime, and then going for one of the really fine new "intermediates" like Azumi, the Powell head flutes, a Yamana 300 series or the like?

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
Forget the M2. Fuzzy, dead tone unless a rare expert works on reshaping the embouchure hole. Almost certainly worse than an Armstrong for low notes.

Save for a Yamaha if you don't like the Armstrong.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the advice.

I'll pass on the M2.

·
Registered
36 Posts
BobbyC said:
Thanks for the advice.

I'll pass on the M2.
Even though I am partial to Gemeinhardts that's probably a good idea. :)

You might want to get your Armstrong to a tech to make sure it is
tight though, since I have found them to be fairly solid flutes.