Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Banned
6,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In several videos of him talking (masterclasses, rico, etc.) he stresses the fact that he has his students use no tongue at all and straight eights.

I'm guessing the "no tongue" approach really means he thinks people are tonguing too much?

Anyways, if anyone has any insight regarding Garzone's approach to rhythm (not necessarily specifically tonguing) and wants to share, Ic/d love to read it.

Thanks all!

·
Forum Contributor 2016, Distinguished SOTW Member
12,797 Posts
I studied with Garzone when I was at Berklee for one semester. He was always on my case about tonguing too much. I didn't stop tonguing or lessen it but I did make it a lot lighter during that time because he drew my attention to it. I used to go to the Copley hotel and see him playing standards there every once in awhile. He was amazing. He wouldn't take it super "Fringe" out because of the type of gig it was. I really loved his inside playing. He was so free with his note choices and rhythms. I'd always go home after and play until 4 or 5 in the morning.

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
yes...you got it right!! the no embouchoure embouchoure...etc.etc

it only means relax...be natural...and dont be TOO technically conscious....

...however to me ,when you add a bit of technical focus to being relaxed then your on top of your game

my approach to all wind playing be it brass or woodwind is that the point where a note begins is the crucial point

I dont care if youve been playing 4 months,2 years 8 years or 30 years... if you can get the note out you can support it.... so my focus is at the beginning of notes...and i let my experience and equipment do the rest of the work

this approach has let me develop more effortless playing and makes playing lead trumpet possible!!!!!

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
no embouchure is Gonz not Garzone.... anyways...same stuff

·
Banned
6,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

·
Registered