Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
759 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is such a thing possible?
I have been using a Vandoren Java T75 for a couple of years now - generally no complaints at all. Recently though I've been getting a bit dissatisfied with my lower register.
Everything above middle C is sweet and the altissimo just pops out (I'm playing an 82Z lacquered, BTW). The lower end just seems to be lacking the richness I'm after.
I also have a vintage Link STM no.7 which is fabulous on the lower end but lacks something in the top - altissimo is more difficult too so I don't think it's the horn.
I'm willing to accept that it may be a technique issue although before anyone mentions it I DO practise longtones and the overtone series every day.
I usually use Jazz select 3 softs.
Anyone got any ideas???

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Great Bloke.
2,968 Posts
Vintage NY Link opened up and tweaked to 130+ with a 4 plasticover reed gives me all of this and more. I gave up trying to find one out of the box and started tweaking my own mpcs. If you're looking for a mpc to do all this for you and more then let me save you a lot of anxiety, many dollars and time and tell you that there isn't anything out there unless you start looking to hand modified and refaced mpcs.

As for reed choice, this is a highly personal thing but I have never found that the Jazz Selects last logner than half a gig before going soft, especially if it is a loud Blues/Rock gig. Altissimo is usually a different skill to low end playing and being able to pull both off with all the dexterity/ Flexibility and control that is required on a gig takes many, many years of practice. Speak with your teacher about how to go through a set routine. Remember that good altissimo control has nothing to do with a tight embouchure.............

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,647 Posts
Bootman said: