Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
646 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This thread led to patmiller very kindly lending me his 1972 Berg Larsen 100/0 mouthpiece. Compared with my Meyer 5M, it's been a revelation so I thought I'd jot some notes about the differences between the two. This is more "relative beginner gets to play a serious mouthpiece for the first time" than any kind of skilled comparison so maybe I haven't put it in quite the right subforum. No doubt a friendly mod will move it if that's the case.

The background is that I've been playing for a bit over 3 years, tenor for a bit over 2. I have a Meyer 5M on alto that I really like, so when a member here was selling a tenor Meyer 5M for a fraction of what I paid for the alto piece, I bought it. The alto Meyer was new, but the price difference also relates to the absurdly high cost of mouthpieces in Australia. I've been fairly happy with the tenor Meyer but vague discontent has been creeping in.

When I first tried the Berg, I was startled - in a good way - but thought the experiment was likely to be shortlived. It was a struggle to get the low register out and playing it at all was quite tiring. However, I remembered what I'd read on SOTW about playing pieces with a wider tip opening and dug out a softer reed (I use a Gonzalez 3.0 with the Meyer, managed to find a 2.5 to try with the Berg). The difference was dramatic even with a half strength change in reed strength - with the 2.5 I can play the whole range of the horn without difficulty. I can play the overtones as well as with the Meyer (my best effort so far is Bb3 with Bb1 fingering) and the only altissimo note I can play on tenor (G3) comes out a little more easily on the Berg, is more stable and just sounds better.