Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, the title is aweful. Before I start, just want to say I'm writing this in order to help all the beginners that (just like me) had trouble and doubts regarding the achievement of an acceptable beginning tone, and by that I mean a good, stable tone, on which you can play the entire saxophone range (well, not entire but, you know, the "basic" saxophone range) without squeaks. I'm not going to explain how to obtain this tone, because I'm a beginner myself (started the alto sax on this year's May), and worst of all... I'm self taught. I didn't get a teacher so far because my schedule (and budget) couldn't afford one. Fortunally this will change and I'm hoping to get one this September.

So again, I'm not going to explain how to improve on the saxophone. Instead, I'm going to share how I improved on mine! (yeah, start throwing the rotten tomatoes) The reason I'm doing this is because I once too was stuck with squeeks, "lip ache", bad embouchure, and an unstable tone in the beginning, and very, very slowly, after maybe weeks of pure frustration, I started to improve, correcting myself on little mistakes. So, if you are interested, please proceed with your reading! :)

Ok, so how did I started? Bad. Problem is I didn't know I was bad in the beginning. Why? Two things: no information regarding how to play and a very untrained hear.