Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Columnist/Official SOTW Guru
3,764 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered a few Debuts from Clark along with my San Francisco and they arrived this morning. What follows is my initial impressions and those of my students. I hope it will be helpful for other students, parents of young players and perhaps other clarinet teachers.

A little background. I teach woodwinds morning, noon and evening, 6 days a week in the school system here. I teach some older, more advanced students but the majority range from absolute beginners to high school kids. They commonly play on;

Yamaha YCL 250 or C100

Jupiter JCL 631 II

Buffet B12

Vito Reso Tone

and the odd P.O.S from some $2 shop on Ebay.

I ordered the Debuts after reading several good recommendations here and elsewhere. I mentioned in another thread that Fobes mouthpieces go for ridiculous amounts here in Australia. A San Francisco retails at $499 and the Debuts at $99

When you consider that the $AUD id currently stronger than the $USD that puts the Debut out of reach for most kids.

Anyway, I spoke to Clark Fobes and ordered direct.

Dealing with Clark and the transaction process: My emails were answered very promptly even with the huge time difference and Clark was very helpful. Clark threw in an extra Debut on top of my order, as well as a box of his Reeds. Clark researched various shipping options for me in a prompt manner and assisted in every way to make the deal a happy one.The Paypal transaction went smoothly and the pieces were shipped immediately. The whole process ...10/10