Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there, I'm an alto player and I've played flute on-and-off in the past; I recently started doubling on flute/clarinet at my private lessons every week... I auditioned for a local jazz honor group and got in, and my concern is that I may need to double on flute for that band, which starts rehearsing soon! :yikes!:

Anyways, do you have any tips for getting out high notes? I'm worried that, if the director does ask me to double, the flute parts will be reeeally high... :( I've been practicing octaves, scales, some etudes, but I'm still having some trouble. Do you have any "tricks" you use? What's your method for getting the high register? Any suggestions are much appreciated. :D

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,003 Posts
tricks, no
intelligent things to practice and develop, yes.

When I studied with Vernon Hill he always stressed the need to avoid tension in the 3rd octave.
Amongst his many techniques, we worked on harmonics a lot in lessons.

Remember, it is the mobility of the aperture and embouchure that produces the different registers of the flute, not just blowing harder.

Can you play a good sound on the head joint alone?
If so, cover the end with the flat of your palm and slur up to the next 'note.' Go back and forward between these. When that is established, go up to the next note.

There are many different ways of explaining what happens to your embouchure when you do this, and how you relate to them depends on you as a student.
I would suggest finding I good flute teacher locally. The basics of flute embouchure can be learnt very quickly if done correctly.

Gordon (NZ) has written a very nice, concise article on this subject, its worth looking up.
good luck.

·
Registered
81 Posts
The key to playing high notes on the flute is to have a more focused airstream. You do this by increasing the airspeed and making your embouchure hole slightly smaller with out tensing up.