Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have recently picked up my alto from 25 years ago and have been having a blast playing again. I was pretty decent for a little kid, but ultimately I am still a beginner.
I've only ever played my bundy II alto, but keep getting the nagging feeling I want a tenor. I rented one and it was awesome.

So I'm here to ask some opinions on the Selmer 44 nickle plated VS a Phil Barone antique bronze classic.

There's a local selmer 44 here for sale at an asking price of 2k. That seems like a pretty decent deal to me.....? as most of the new ones are closer to 3300. It looks like it's in great shape.

I convinced myself I was going to go play the selmer on Sunday, love it, and buy it.

Then I saw an antique bronze laquer and thought how awesome that finish looks! So that led me to the phil barone

I know most of this probably boils down to personal opinion, but there are so many options and I know nothing. And at my skill level, they will probably both be very similar to me

Thanks for any opinions or advice you may have!

Cullen

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
Did you like how the Selmer played?

·
Banned
2,844 Posts
The Selmer is an Asian made horn with a Selmer Paris neck. Probably very similar to the Barone. You could of course get other professional horns used for the same money. For example a used Yamaha 62 minty can be had at the money your spending.

·
Forum Contributor 2013-2017
879 Posts