Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about private teaching locally with in-home lessons. I have good references, but I lack experience. I've taught a few saxophonists some stuff, but I've never actually taught. What I'm afraid of is the kids themselves. I'll probably end up teaching younger kids. Does anyone have any tips, things to look out for I wouldn't think of because I've never done it before, or simply any interesting stories? Thanks.

·
Registered
240 Posts
I taught a few summer lessons a year ago. Only two people took me seriously since I was only 16. First off, have a lesson plan, but be prepared to adapt based on their respective skill levels. Be ready to address all issues related to their sound. I struggled because I was sometimes expexted to know how to fix leaks and various mechanical problems. That is pretty much all I have to offer. I only gave twelve lessons between the two of them. One of the mothers contacted shortly after school started and told me that her son got 1st chair. I felt very proud of both him and myself. It made me want to be a music teacher until I remembered how they are getting layed off left and right in my district.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,221 Posts
Referances from who? Kids?
Parents want referances from your private instructor, college professor, other respected 'professional' musicians.
They also want to know if you've done anything other than play in a high school concert band setting.
Playing experience beyond 'a few years' is REALLY important when taking on students.
Being able to clearly express and demonstrate 'ideas' in a way that is easily understood by a beginning player is also important.
You also have to have enough 'personal playing' experience to accuratly determine the level of the student and plan the lessons accordingly.