Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
7,614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing cane reeds since the 1950s. Started with Ciccone Symmetricut reeds (I hope I spelled that correctly) then on to Rico (mostly regulars I tried some of the newer cuts and couldn't justify the expense as they didn't sound or perform better for me). I dabbled in LaVos and a few others, but mostly Ricos. I guess I'm not that picky.

As the years went by I picked up other instruments, flute, wind synth, guitar, bass, keyboards, trap set (I started on drums in school but moved to sax as soon as a rental was available), and vocals.

So now my horn sits on the stand a lot, as I play wind synth, guitar, flute, sax, and voice on the gig. Depending on the gig, and mostly the audience, the sax might sit on the stand for a half hour between songs. Other nights it might get a workout. But on the days it sits on the stand, it's difficult to play as the reed dries out and warps.

So I inquired about syn-reeds on this post
https://forum.saxontheweb.net/showt...on-cane-reed-is-closest-to-a-Rico-Regular-1-5

I ended up with a Legere 2 Signature on my Link Tonemaster 8 NY.

First impression

Pros: It's always ready. It plays well and evenly throughout the range of the horn. It's consistent.

Cons: The tone is not as warm, especially in the low register. The tone isn't as flexible (from subtone to overblow).

I don't hate the tone, and the audience doesn't reject it, but my ears are so used to the warmer sound, it still sounds a bit sterile to me.

Before I decide whether I'll continue using it or not, I need to play it more. I suspect there might be a learning curve on how to get the best out of it. Then I'll evaluate whether or not the instant readiness is worth the change in tone.

I'm also thinking about trying a Fibrecell. Perhaps it will sound warmer. I tried one earlier but it was too soft, so I'll have to go for a harder one.