Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curious about the proper technique with fingering. I know which finger goes on which key but what should I pay attention to while practising? Some previous postings suggest the following:
1. Keep fingers on keys without lifting
2. Don't press down too hard

Are there others?
My hands are big and can wrap around the body well to the point where I am not sure how the palm should wrap around side keys. Any suggestions, books, online references...?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
Your fingers should be slightly curved. A nice natural relaxed curve, like when you type at your computer. :D

The ultimate goal is to have your fingers as relaxed as possible (just like wiggling them in the air) and to reduce tension and only use as much movement as necessary.

If you're a total beginner, there will be some tension and rigidity in the fingers simply because you're asking them to do unfamiliar things. But monitor your tension level and as you progress, learn to relax the fingers. Sometimes, just paying attention without actually trying to do anything is all that is needed.

·
Registered
115 Posts
After 18 months I seem to have got the right hand to relax, but the left still insists on a vice like grip if I don't concentrate.

·
Banned
5,336 Posts
Some good advice already in this thread.

A few exercises that seem to work well to help my students relax the hands and fingers.

-Without the sax, let the arms hang limply to the sides of the chair. It is important to also relax the shoulders as you do this.

-When the arms feel limp and relaxed, start to shake them about like a hanging rope flapping in the wind. Keep the relaxed limp feel going as they move.

-When the arms begin to feel really relaxed, start to wiggle the fingers with the arm motion. Make the fingers feel as limp and free as the arms.