Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I graduated High School I enrolled at SLCC Meramec, and spent (sort of) three years in the Wednesday Jazz Lab Band and a semester at SIUE, before falling away from playing. As I've been getting back into playing again, I had a dream: I was going to try getting back into the Meramec Lab Band, which had a few adult community members in addition to students. The scheduling would be great because they met in the evening, so I didn't need to worry about work conflicts. It wouldn't be as high-pressure and competitive as trying to get into a professional band, and would also be a better learning environment as I get back into it.

Unfortunately, I just learned today that Meramec hasn't had either of their big bands in several years.

Dreams...dashed.

But I still want to play SOMEWHERE.

SIUE met during the day which doesn't work for me, and with Webster and Wash U having major jazz programs the competition is going to be brutal, especially since I'm still just getting back into it. I did some quick Googling for community big bands but haven't had a whole lot of luck (granted, I don't have a lot of time to spend searching tonight). And I've been out of circulation so long I don't know what the scene is like at UMSL.

Anyone in the St. Louis area have any suggestions?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,412 Posts
You might find what they call a 'rehearsal band' if you ask around music stores, etc. Its where they simply meet and play charts. Attendees vary and typically the band does not perform, but might do so once a year or so. The big band scene has taken a big hit in the last few years, no pun intended - its practically gone.

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
And I've been out of circulation so long I don't know what the scene is like at UMSL.