Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
11,602 Posts
Hi!

I want to know what are the most common music styles that saxophonists play using filed reeds. The same with unfiled reeds... Please!!!

^^ Kassandra ^^
I've never heard of filed or unfiled reeds being connected to a particular style. Why do you ask this strange question?

· Banned
Selmer Super Action 80 alto
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've never heard of filed or unfiled reeds being connected to a particular style. Why do you ask this strange question?
Well... I started playing the saxophone 3 weeks ago, and I'm currently using unfiled reeds. I've been told that filed reeds sound great in styles like ballad, Venezuelan "joropo", bossa nova, smooth jazz... and unfiled reeds are great for military marches, rock, pop, blues... is that true?

· Registered
50 Posts
There are many variables in the design of a reed that will impact how it responds and sounds, well beyond being filed or unfiled. Usually (but not universally) reeds for classical work are filed. Cuts marketed for jazz and more contemporary styles come in different types and it becomes a matter of preference for the individual player.

· Registered
50 Posts
If you've been playing for 3 weeks, I wouldn't worry too much about the cut of the reed you're using. Find something you're able to produce a sound on and work on the fundamentals of embouchure and breath control. Once you have that down, you can start to experiment with different preferences (hopefully under the guidance of a good teacher).

· Registered
492 Posts
I think there is a difference but it’s small enough that it might be in my head. Honestly after years of playing and going through a whole mess of reeds, I’m playing Rico orange box. The most basic thing you can get. For a while I played Royals which are the same but filed…