Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing on Fibracell's on my Tenor for the past 2 years and they have been super consistent, responsive, bright and easy to play right out of the packaging. However, the last 2-3 I have purchased have been stuffy, not as easy to blow on, dark, and dull. Nothing at all like my previous ones. Has something changed with their reeds or have I just gotten some unlucky ones the past couple purchases?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the links. I looked a couple weeks ago and didn't see anything, but after ruling out it being me, I decided to post.

·
Registered
540 Posts
Mine came from Musician's Friend, and they were not playable. As said there's a more full discussion on the Cafe and here in the General discussion section. Suffice it to say that the company denied the possibility of a problem, didn't want to receive the duds back, and went on to tell me I didn't know how to put a reed on a mouthpiece (even though I'd told them I've been play their reeds for over 10 years). They absolutely refuse to stand behind their product. I've got the extra expense of having them shipped to my far corner of the world, so add another $20+ and you've got very expensive duds. If I want to buy dud reeds I can go back to cane...which are at least a lot cheaper!

Fibracell's attitude just doesn't make it in a competitive world and I would be happy to see them go down for not standing behind their product and instead insulting their (up to now) loyal customers.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·