Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm Fester I am new to this forum & hoping for the best! I am a novice to these sites and initially registered & left a question about my new/old sax on another popular forum…and after a week..."zilch"...I see however on this site, people actually respond
I just found a 1923 Buescher True Tone SN# 139572. I bought it cheap (I think) and my "bucket list" quest is to see if I can bring it back to life & then learn to play it (yes I said learn to play it).
I picked the C-MEL because I wanted it to be “out of the ordinary” (at least for modern times) and my passion is antiques anyway & this clearly qualifies.... I've been researching & soaking up C Melody info like a sponge & I know I made the right choice. This sax has no dents and had no repairs...it is silver (almost black) & had a good neck but no MP or case....I started cleaning it with "Silver Foam' and so far I am happy!
Now my (initial) questions...
A) I know the year, and the SN (139572) but what else can I learn from that about my sax (model, date, ????)
B) I am going to try to get period MP, Reeds, lig etc… what brand names I should search for?
C) while cleaning it (I am confident by closely examining the area, it was not existing and I or father time at any rate did it) the support post between the bell & body "let go" at the body.....Is that a big deal repair (new solder /super glue)...or am I screwed)?
"Hoping for a reply!"
Fester

·
Registered
686 Posts