Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Yamaha YA280 alto which came with a 4c mouthpiece. I started learning three months ago and have moved from a 1-1/2 to a 2 reed. I find it impossible to play the highest two notes f and f#. What might the cause be?
Ian

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
39,489 Posts
The fact that you are playing only for 3 months? That says a lot in itself.

It takes time to learn to play, high and low notes are the most difficult as a beginner. Try also not to choke the reed by taking too little in and playing too much on the tip alone.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can play the lowest Bb to high E without any problem. I have tried changing my mouthpiece entry distance and I do try to avoid putting bottom lip pressure on the reed. I would have thought that with enough trying I would have made at least a few f and f# sounds but so far nothing. Tried a different reed brand and I always moisten the reed before playing. Reed tip is about 0.5mm from mouthpiece tip. Perhaps a different mouthpiece will help.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
39,489 Posts
I don’t hink that there is anything wrong with your mouthpiece.

Don’t start feeding, this early, the gear acquisition syndrome (GAS) , with pointless (at this stage of your development) reaching for wallet to buy the chops that you have to acquire anyway. Everybody needs to learn to walk and then maybe to run, there are very accomplished playes whom play the Yamaha mouthpieces even after years of playing.

There is the remote possibility that something is leaking... (have the horn checked and try other horns to see if you have better results on someone else’s sax) but I would simply think that you need to try and try again. The reed may be too hard (although if you get a good low Bb sound it shouldn’t) try maybe a softer reed and please, relax the embouchure.