Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just been given a horn that has no makers name or marks. It has key guards the resemble those of an old martin or that ilk. However, it was bought in a car boot by a mate who cant be bothered with it. It has 2 octave keys side by side. Never seen this before. It doesnt seem to be that old. does anyone know of a fingering chart that will work with this beast. Im quite new to the sax myself so this is a liitle wierd.

Any ideas

·
Registered
1,293 Posts
Early saxes had two octave keys and stayedthat way until the Sax patents ran out in about 1882. After that all manufacturers moved to single octave keys, although I believe Conn made saxes with two as late as 1911. If your sax has split bell keys, it is likely to be American; same side bell keys, more likely French (or other European).... unless it really is something weird. If it is a little on the short side, then it is may well be old with a larger bore.

I assume it is not a bari with an additional key for low A.

That's the best I can do.... now for some more expert opinions ....

·
Registered
59 Posts
No name...no markings...two octave keys means its probably a contemporary Indian sax.....they are based on a old design. If that is the case I wouldn`t worry about how to play with two octave keys....rather, how to play it at all!!!!

·
Registered
745 Posts
BuffetBlowerDude said:
No name...no markings...two octave keys means its probably a contemporary Indian sax.....they are based on a old design. If that is the case I wouldn`t worry about how to play with two octave keys....rather, how to play it at all!!!!
Aren't those the ones that are only keyed down to about low C, or some such nonsense? (As much as I love the thought of a world without LH pinky keys...)

A saxophone keyed from low D up to high C - now that would be very nice. So much less to worry about.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,072 Posts