Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm not new to the forum, but very rarely visit. What has caused me to visit is my mouthpiece delima which has caused me much grief and money!

My Setup:
I've been playing my Yamaha Custom Z82 for a few years now with a Jody Jazz HR 6 (with spoiler) and have had really zero issues, other than some scale issues. I have pretty much stuck with Rico Plasticover line playing anywhere from a 2 - 3 strength reed.

The Problem:
The reason decided to switch was due to some pretty minor issues I was experiencing with the JJ HR mpc. I having issues seamlessly transitioning to the lower octave, and hitting higher notes which I would have to do with great effort. For some reason this mouthpiece worked great in the midsection, but suffered in these two areas. So I decided to switch to the JJ ESP 7 after reading several very good reviews. Before selling the JJ HR mpc I played around with the both of them to compare, and was pleased (at the time) with the ESP enough to drop a couple of hundred on it. After awhile, I noticed I was squeaking and squealing quite a bit. I've never had this problem, I've always had good ambrosure and played pretty confidently, but now I'm struggling not to squeak. At first I thought it was the spoiler that came with the ESP, but then I noticed it happened with or without the spoiler. Then I tried switching up my reeds and trying some plain Rico reeds, but that didn't seem to help. Adjusted my Lig, nothing...So really, I'm stumped. I'm thinking about going back to a HR mpc, but I was something that will give me good control overall...

Any suggestions???

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,939 Posts
Table, facing, baffle...

I'd send it to a good mouthpiece tech for evaluation and possible touchup.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts