Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had a thought weighing on my mind for years and I’m wondering if anyone feels the same way. When I was trying to make a career of being a jazz musician I considered myself a ‘tenor’ player. However, I never felt like I could truly find my voice as an improviser. I think by the time that I starting dabbling in alto and soprano I had decided to move my career in a different direction. This is not relevant, but I always felt like there was a certain expectation that came along with being labeled a tenor player. Big tone, big presence, certain phrasing, lot’s of notes (not in a bad way and only when appropriate). It’s hard to explain and I’m hoping someone understands where I’m coming from. As an improviser, none of my biggest influences are tenor players. Don’t get me wrong, there are many tenor players that I loved and have studied, but my concept is just different. I probably put the pressure on myself rather than just being myself, but I always felt like there was an expectation as a tenor player to sound a certain way. Really curious how other people feel about this. Thanks for listening.

·
Registered
439 Posts
I definitely get what you’re saying. I actually played alto exclusively for years. It was always “you have to play tenor” and all or you won’t get gigs... then when I kept getting gigs it was... “hey, if you’re getting gigs, keep doing it”. I eventually came to a different point which was play the instrument you would want to when you want to. I actually found playing alto helped my tenor playing and playing tenor at the same time helped my alto playing and I try to play whichever one I am feeling at the moment anyway. It’s not like I don’t practice in all the keys anyway. Yeah the embouchure is a little different but that just makes you more flexible. So, yeah... I encourage you to work towards wherever your musical journey leads you.

·
Registered