Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone, I am going to cut to the chase. I recently purchased an antique Buescher C Melody Stencil which I am going to overhaul by myself. I believe it is nearly identical to the True Tone (I will try to attach some images that lead me to believe this), but I have had trouble finding a lot of detail on the horn. If anyone knows anything about the sax (when it was made, the quality, really anything) Please let me know! I want to know all I can about it. Also if anyone has any advice on the overhauling process, I would love to hear that too, I have never done anything like that before! Thank you for your help, I will try to stay active on this thread.

View attachment 157969 View attachment 157985 View attachment 158001 View attachment 158009

Here is a link to a document I just created with pictures of all the tone holes with missing keys, and one with all the keys I have that are detached. I think I have all the missing keys, except I'm not sure if I have the octave key.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1FsLxTncjwPheowaJB8Ui5a_Mc_inQqP1UifFYd426HU/edit?usp=sharing

·
Premium Member
578 Posts
Cool horn Matt. I really dig C-Mels but wow, that's a project! Looks like it's missing a pad cup for a rather unimportant tone hole. Necks looks great though.

Your enthusiasm is there but you may want to reconsider overhauling a C melody stencil.

Edit* I failed to see your text under the photo's - you are cleared for take off! Man those neck braces are the coolest.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cool horn Matt. I really dig C-Mels but wow, that's a project! Looks like it's missing a pad cup for a rather unimportant tone hole. Necks looks great though.

Your enthusiasm is there but you may want to reconsider overhauling a C melody stencil.