Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi friends,

First of all - I'm sorry for my bad English. I'm not a native English speaker, so please be easy with me.

I used to play a lot as youngster (I'm pretty much self-taught on the saxophone. I did, however, studied the Clarinet), and now I'm getting back to practice after some years without touching my horn.

I play a Serie-III Selmer tenor with a Jumbo-Java t-75 mouthpiece and a La-Voz med-hard reed.

My problem is that while playing scales I change the position of my jaw and the lips pressure to adjust them to the desired tone. I read Teal's "The art of Saxophone playing" and on page 62 he relates to this problem and emphasis how wrong it is :(

I tried to do the exercise he recommands i.e: play a mid A and than a high A, without changing anything but pressing the register key - but after the first high A, the release of the regiter key doesn't produce the lower A. It just stays high until I re-adjust my jaw / lip pressure.

Another (related I believe) problem is that in order to produce the lower notes (let say beneath low D) I have to blow harder taking out more air than on higher notes, and that makes my sound very loud and "hard". If I don't blow hard enough on those notes - the sound will vibrate or even won't be continuos. To sum it up - I sound differently on those low tones than on the whole range of the sax.

Any comments would be much appreciated.
Thanks,

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,303 Posts
I have not read Teal's book (looked through it once). I'm of the opinion that much of octave-jump success is mental - thinking the right note will often help the player speak the right note, thus the octave key becomes secondary to producing the correct tone (and pitch).

Seasoned players can go through a tune (or an exercise) without operating the octave key.