·
Registered
1,924 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Would this be suitable?
Good question, suitable for what? - the paper specs suggest that it would be a handy interface for recording instruments (quite a wide variety) onto a computer.

If that's what you want to do then perhaps it will - but if you are looking for a "live performance tool" I'd think not.

I'd ignore the effects - the usual golden rule is "Get it down clean" and you can add the effects later (often in software).

·
Registered
1,924 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi

I was talking about it suitable for as a home-recording tool.
I'm a beginner at this. Can you help me?

I just have a AKG C419 clip on mic. I need some phantom power stuff to power it up...and then I need to record my sax into my PC (using Audacity).

Is there a cheaper way than getting the Edirol?

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
If you can find one, about 100 british pounds (200 US dollars).

Assuming you have basic sound on board your PC, one of the small Behringers with phantom power should do the job for a good deal less.
Mic > mixer > line out> computer line in, and the job's done.

But the dedicated cheapskate would try a (borrowed?) cheap computer mic (such as those on headsets) and see if that did the job well enough - before splashing the cash.

·
Registered
7,862 Posts
I'm from the school of doing the best you can with what you've got. Learning and then moving on.

I second DougR's comment. If your PC has a soundcard installed, pick up a small Behringer Mixer for about $59 (US) that has phantom power ( I have an older model the MX608a) and go into the line input on your PC. Since you already have a mic, (though not one I would use for recording) you are good to go.