Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, new to Forum. I recently acquired a neglected, water damaged & unplayable E.L. DeFord model 10B, Thinwall, all silver, B foot & open hole. The serial number is #A27400, footjoint & body matching. I am personally restoring this flute and have it playing down to C# as I am slowing repadding this instrument (I am not a pro repairer, I repad, shim and re-cork as a hobby). The bore is good as the previous owner had a pad saver in it to absorb moisture. It is sounding decent now. The questions I have are;

1) What is the general consensus of this flute, mediocre or better?

2) The Headjoint is stamped "00", what is the significance of that label. Is this a handcrafted HJ?

3) Value. I suspect anywhere from $400.00 to $500.00?

4) Old parts availability. A lot of the keys the plating is gone or there is pitting.

5) What year was it made. I am guessing mid 70's.

The flute is butt ugly, a real beater, however is playable now. I have plenty left to do on this flute such as swedge the tubing.

Thanks in advance.
Gordon

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
I just purchased a Deford 8b(circa early 2000s) from ww.bw.com on closeout for $699. They sold for $899 reg. My daughters flute teacher liked it. My daughter sounded great on it. Her reg flute is a yamaha 225. I am just learning flute(after playing sax for 30 yrs). Just reread your post,your flute is older. The modern Defords are good.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Good to hear about your 8B. I think the 8B is a medium or thick wall version of what I have, though I may be wrong. Thanks.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,030 Posts