Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've recently been looking at my mouthpiece and learning more about the parts of mouthpieces and what they do (Thanks theowanne.com!) and have realized that I need to take my Jumbo Java, put it in a box, and run far and fast! :shock:

The dukoff BD hollywoods (Like Dexter, I know I know... the piece doesn't make the player) seems to be a step in the right direction.

Here's the problem: Am I going to be able to find one that I can afford without removing and selling major organs? I'm a high school student without a job, and I have limited resources for making money. I could maybe scrounge up $300-$350. Would this be enough? Or do I just have to deal with this super-birght-loud-laser beam mpc?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,944 Posts
Your Jumbo Java is not necessarily a bad mouthpiece, and, if you're a high school student, I would say that the Dukoff Hollywood would be, to put it bluntly, a stupid investment. You're not going to find one in a useful tip opening for less than $500, if what I've seen on eBay is any indicator.

Why is the Dukoff your only option?

Try a modern Link STM and get it refaced. If you buy a used mouthpiece, that will probably cost you $200. Also think about the Vandoren V16 hard rubber tenor mouthpieces. Those run about $100 on Saxquest.

I bought an expensive mouthpiece (Ponzol) in high school, then realized it was completely wrong for me. Now I'm very, very happy on my Link.

·
2,228 Posts