Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey -

I've been wondering - is there a correlation between how much mouthpiece you take in and the pitch (intonation)? I've been trying to take in more mouthpiece the last week or two. It seems like If I take in more, I'm sharper, and if I take less, the pitch is flatter. I'm wondering if this is normal, or maybe I'm imagining it? Or maybe I'm doing something different when I take in more, which is making it a bit sharper, like adding some pressure or perhaps a different tongue position or something.

Thoughts?

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
You're the one to know. Do what works for you.

·
Registered
84 Posts
I'm no expert but usually it is the other way around, when taking less mpc some players tend to "bite" more as you can exerce more pressure on the reed easily (and then playing sharper).

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,581 Posts
I'm no expert but usually it is the other way around, when taking less mpc some players tend to "bite" more as you can exerce more pressure on the reed easily (and then playing sharper).
Yes, This is what usually happens.
When you take in enough mouthpiece you can’t really bite it closed (sharper) because you’re past the break in the curve. Plus it causes the embouchure to loosen naturally because of the more open/ relaxed jaw position. You know, eventually, when you decide if you need to go down a reed size now that you’re not biting a size off your tip opening.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,435 Posts
Essentially anything you change with the mouthpiece, reed or embouchure affects pitch. It is for this reason that you see many pro players with the mouthpiece pushed way in - they are using a looser embouchure with more lower lip out so the tendency is to go more flat. I have tended to take less mouthpiece in the last 30 years and no longer wonder why or how to fix it. :)