Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still a newbie, started in march 2016, trying to play 1 hour each day, nice plan, not always possible.

So my experience would add up to around 1200 hours playing tenor saxophone, still a newby.

But:
- I no longer honk like real newbies, I try to shape my tone
- I can play (slowly) directly from sheet music, is it is not too complicated
- I no longer consider 80 BPM fast :)

I still have a long way to go. And like so many complex subjects (I consider playing sax as complicated): the more you know about it, the better you see what you don't know. So playing saxophone is humbling.

Last week, I was home alone practising. And I often end with a blues tune (and an improvistion from a book) my teacher gave me last year. It was the first time I had the idea I was making music, instead of just honking on the horn and trying to get all the notes correctly.

My wife came home, unexpected. And she danced into the room where I was practising. Or better, playing my heart out on this basic simple Blues tune.

So she heard it also: she danced because I was making music, not just honking on a horn.

I still have a lot to learn to become a real musician.
But sometimes I can make a bit of music. And other people hear it too.
I will never forget the moment she came dancing into the room.

Anybody else had a similar experience?

Bart

·
Administrator
17,276 Posts
Nice story Bart. :)

For me it's a long time ago (30+ years) that I started and I don't have a clear memory about that as you, but I think I got that feeling when I first played a simple melody in a smooth way with a decent sound (could be Sentimental Journey, not sure).

Do you play in a band? If not, I would recommend you to start with that. That will really give you the feeling of making music.

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
I'm around the same time mark.