Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have been playing alto saxophone for about 2 years, and I was wondering if anyone knows of any good cheap tenor saxophones. I would like a tenor that is good quality, good for a tenor beginner,and under $800. If you have any suggestions, it would really help!:whistle:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,000 Posts
The big choice becomes whether you wanna go contemporary or vintage. Pete Thomas mentions some new budget horns on his site which he feels are worthy; other folks would suggest the ol' default YTS 23, which you can pick up for that budget.

I personally feel that $600-750 can get you a hella lot more horn than a beginner horn such as those two options... should you open yourself to considering a pre-1980's horn. But some folks really insist on contemporary.

In the former, you can pick up a nice Conn Director, King Cleveland, Martin Indiana, Holton 241, or perhaps even a Buescher Aristocrat for that $orta dolla', if you are lookin' for that big ol' american Tenor sorta sound.

Or you can also consider a solid European-made horn such as an older Keilwerth-H. Couf, Kohlert, Malerne, Vito/Noblet/Beaugnier or Pierret stencil.

It's a pretty good budget to get better than a beginner horn, is basically what I'm sayin'.

Not trying to make a sale, but I do have a fair # of Tenors in that pricerange, so you can PM me if you'd like. Or also check what folks have up in the Marketplace....

Also, folks could make more focused suggestions if you mention what sorta music you play and what sorta sound you are looking for.....

·
Registered
JS Crescent, JS NOS, Selmer SBA, Couf Superba I, Conn, Buescher, King
1,446 Posts
48chevy, this has been discussed quite a bit in the past. I would urge you to search archives for longer past discussions, and avoid listening to any one person.