Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*recording shootout* what to keep, what to sell? Martin, Jupiter, Vito altos

I'm new to the saxophone (pretty much exactly one year) but I've been a musician for many years (mainly guitar) and know my theory, scales, etc. I messed around on flute for maybe a year before getting the sax, so I got a feel for the fingerings.

I did a lot of research before getting my first sax, and decided on a Vito YAS-23, made in Japan, because they were apparently made by Yamaha and have a good reputation but are inexpensive. I don't remember exactly what I paid but it was no more than $200. The neck needs re-corking, but otherwise it plays and sounds very well. It's dented on the bottom but otherwise in good cosmetic shape.

Then this fall I spotted a Jupiter JAS 769 on craigslist in great shape for virtually nothing ($20) and jumped on it. I've been playing that since.

And this past week I saw a Great American Gretsch straight c-soprano in working condition for $100 (plus 20 for delivery to my house by the seller) and thought that would be a fun birthday present for myself :). But then I saw the seller also had a working Martin Indiana alto for sale, and asked how much it would be for both. The difference was only $70. Hard to say no to that. The Martin could also use a re-corking (I have the necessary supplies and have found instructional videos... I just have to work up the nerve) and I was told the low Bb doesn't seal well... I found the Bb a bit harder to play well but not too bad. I rubbed a little mink oil on that pad with a Q-tip and it seems to be fine now. It's the model the guy on this page calls a "phase 3b" or "deluxe": http://www.themartinstory.net/version7/models-indiana.php