Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm a High School Student who just started recording, and I would like some input from SotW. I know this isn't the best quality or my best recording, so please leave any comments or inputs on how I can improve or even tips on recording better. And please don't give me unnecessary rude comments please. The link is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNIz_o6a2P0

·
Registered
556 Posts
Warren Hill has a great version of this tune. If you could copy some of his licks you'd be the BMOC (Big man on campus)! :eek:

·
Registered
297 Posts
Sounds excellent for a high school player, saxyminime! Recordings are always tricky in and of themselves. Probably lots of folks on here can help with that. Just a quick observation or two. I felt like maybe your tone needed more support a few times. You seemed to thin out toward the end of some of the phrases. I've been a vocalist and sax player for a long time and I still do breath exercises to maximize my air support and (I know you've heard this one ad nauseum) those long tones are critical. I'd say take charge more of your notes, both the entry and the exit could be more deliberate in some phrases. I'm sure you'll get more specific remarks from others. There are some fantastic teachers on here who are always willing to help. You're doing GREAT! Keep up your practice and keep reaching for more. And have lots of FUN! All the best!

·
Registered
4,525 Posts
Nice intonation up there where you were playing. Nice tone too.

If you play some more notes nearer the bottom range of your horn, it will make the highs sound even more beautiful.

·
Registered
156 Posts
first off, your phrasing is pretty good for a high school student.