Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Yamaha YAS-26 Alto
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Adult returning saxophone player here.
I bough a YAS-26 a few years back for about $600 and I am just getting started back up after years away.
The horn plays pretty well with a few areas that I need to get looked at by a technician.
My goal is to get a few lessons with a teacher in my area and then study mainly at home with a goal toward community band playing sometime...

Now, I have the opportunity to buy a YAS-62 model for around $1000.
My question is should I stick with the 26 I have now or go after the 62?
I have not played the 62 but looks to be in good overall condition.

Any advice is appreciated!

·
Registered
Yamaha YAS-26 Alto
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Adult returning saxophone player here.
I bough a YAS-26 a few years back for about $600 and I am just getting started back up after years away.
The horn plays pretty well with a few areas that I need to get looked at by a technician.
My goal is to get a few lessons with a teacher in my area and then study mainly at home with a goal toward community band playing sometime...

Now, I have the opportunity to buy a YAS-62 model for around $1000.
My question is should I stick with the 26 I have now or go after the 62?
I have not played the 62 but looks to be in good overall condition.

Any advice is appreciated!
Please ignore this reply...

·
Registered
424 Posts
I own a YAS-23 (Vito clone). I don't play alto much, but had it overhauled and added a V1 neck. It plays very well! But not a 62. And I don't play alto as much to justify owning a pro alto sax.

If it were me, and I focused on alto, yes, go for the 62!

·
Registered
Yamaha YAS-26 Alto
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I own a YAS-23 (Vito clone). I don't play alto much, but had it overhauled and added a V1 neck. It plays very well! But not a 62. And I don't play alto as much to justify owning a pro alto sax.