Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,057 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a new yts-23. Looking for a mpc that will provide a thicker, darker sound without being tubby. Thinking maybe the Phil-Tone Intrepid, the Tribute, Drake Bergonzi EB or possibly just try a few metal Link NY's(not new vintage).

Any thoughts or other ideas?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
7,212 Posts
Tenney Jazzmaster

Check it out on Steve Neff's site.

2nd option: Benjamin Allen 10e, atlhough brighter than the Tenney Jazzmaster.
There is a 10e for sale now in the marketplace for $225, by vendela, I think.

I have a Jazzmaster that I could sell for $350.
I have a couple of them.

·
Banned
2,814 Posts
Not to be a complete kill-joy here, but it's IMPOSSIBLE to recommend a mouthpiece to you with those characteristics, simply because everyone........EVERYONE sounds different on virtually any mouthpiece. Not to mention my definition/opinion of tubbyness certainly isn't the same as anyone else's either! I can't tell you how many times I've loved someone's sound on a certain mouthpiece and tried it, only to sound completely different.......like me. Same vice-versa. I've had people try my set up and get a completely different sound. I'd take a trip to Boston Sax Shop and try some different 'pieces so you yourself can get at least a ballpark idea. Not sure if there are any other stores near you (I haven't lived in Boston since 2000), but there's no better way than trying in person.

John

·
Registered
213 Posts