Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to understand about what it is that affects the darkness/brightness/warmth from one saxophone to another. Type of metal, bore, new/vintage etc?

I have limited experience of different models of saxophone. The only pro tenor I've ever owned is the Selmer Series II which I've had for fifteen years. I've only occasionally tried out other modern horns in shops, or vintage horns owned by friends.

The other day I tried my mouthpiece on a friends Conn 10M, and was struck by the sound I got from it - for me it was much darker and warmer than my Selmer, and I really liked it. So I'm now thinking I should get around to exploring more fully what other horns have to offer. And then maybe buy one!

So I'd be interested to know what the factors are that affect sound in saxophone. And beyond that, also any specific suggestions for horns to try which might be good for the full, open, dark and warm sound that I'm trying to get.

(I realise that all those terms are subjective... If it helps, my main reference for the kind of sound I strive for is Chris Cheek. Amazingly warm and open sound... Check him out if you don't know him!)

(Also, I realise too that the mouthpiece is a huge factor for sound. But I know a reasonable amount about how baffles, chambers, etc. affect the sound, and I'm reasonably happy with the mouthpiece I have. So for this thread I'm interested in the saxophone itself.)

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,943 Posts
(Also, I realise too that the mouthpiece is a huge factor for sound. But I know a reasonable amount about how baffles, chambers, etc. affect the sound, and I'm reasonably happy with the mouthpiece I have. So for this thread I'm interested in the saxophone itself.)