Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have at it:

I left out the reverb so its more pure to what the sax actually sounds like. There were just a few tweaks... one quiet section I turned up... and a few booming Bb's that I had to still turn down even though I tried backing the sax away from the mic.

Sax:1919 Conn "Wonder" C-Melody Tenor
Mpc: Rico Metalite M7 Tenor
Reed:Vandoren Blue Box 2.5

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Any feedback guys n' gals?

I think its mostly terrible, some notes I let the intonation slip and on some notes I was way off pitch. I've been playing saxophone for six months as of today 8-1-11. Watching myself play I can see that I am badly guilty of "flying fingers" as well.... maybe its time for a little double stick tape

I'd appreciate some thoughts/advice/criticisms please. Thankyou for looking!

·
Banned
2,397 Posts
Lots of encouragement. For six months this is very good. You have a sense of melody timing and drama. Better note choices come with time. I'm guessing that you play other instruments and are bringing along that musicality.

Dump the C and get a sax that you don't have to fight to play in tune. You're not fixated on reading music anyway so why the C? If you really want/need to play the C then work with a tuner that will let you know where you are so that you can "adjust" and play that instrument in tune. This advice carries a hazard warning: If you learn to adjust your playing to sharpen and flat certain notes this can carry to other instruments (which may have good intonation) and you will either play out of tune or have to re-adjust to how you should be playing in the first place.

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wade, Thank you for the positive comments. You guessed it right I am a multi-instrumentalist!