Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys

I´m curious about trying my Custom 855 alto sax with either the G1 or G3 neck. I still have the original neck, an M1 (that´s what is says prineted there), and I´ve always wondering how good or bad I can get the sound using a new neck.

Unfortunately, I don´t have the oportunity to try them, so, I need to buy one, but before I do, I would like to hear your opinions. What should I expect from those necks? I´ve heard the G1 gives a more round sound, less bright (which would be nice for me, because that´s my issue), but some others say that I should buy the "silver plated" one. What about the G3?

I know there´s not an answer for my question, but I´m sure your opinions will be such a great help.

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Each neck is different, it seems. I have no knowledge of the Yamaha necks but would like to comment about your question in general. There was recently a lot of discussion on SOTW about the re-designed Selmer Ref 54 alto necks. I bought one from Dave Kessler, even after he told me personally that it wouldn't work for me. I guess he knew me better than I knew myself.

Still, I was looking for what others had experienced with their new necks. I did not have the low-end gurgles, though - and that was supposed to be one thing the new neck corrected. Another claim was that the new neck caused the horn to have more focus. THAT was what I wanted.

The new re-designed Selmer Ref 54 neck did not work for me at all. Low end would not speak and the whole horn took on a stuffiness that was not good. Dave Kessler was gracious about the return.

So, try the new necks if you like, but try to do it where you can return it. What you've heard is only that. DAVE

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
7,126 Posts